Carnlough Town Hall
Sunday:Â April, May, June, September – 2pm-5pm
Saturday and Sunday:Â July and August – 2pm-5pm
Room bookings â€“ telephone Carnlough Community Association.
Group bookings by arrangement
T. +44 (0)28 288 86188
M. +44 (0)77 1935 7404Visit Website
The interpretation display in The Heritage Hub at Carnlough Town Hall celebrates Carnloughâ€™s harbour, its maritime connections, the areaâ€™s beautiful scenery, geology, wildlife and natural resources. It also explores the history of settlers from the Stone Age to the industrialists of the 19th Century.
The Town Hall was built in 1856 as an important part of the infrastructure servicing the growth of the limestone industry in Carnlough. Between the 1840s and the mid 1850s, the Marchioness of Londonderry, Frances Anne Vane Tempest, built a harbour, railway system, quarry office, shipping office, post office, hotel, school, houses and everything necessary to support the extraction and export of limestone. The ground floor of the Town Hall housed the quarry office and the kelp store. The first floor provided a room which was used for community events â€“ tenants annual dinners, magic lantern shows, talks and other entertainments. This room has once again been restored as a flexible display and community meeting space which can be used for talks, meetings presentations, and training courses. It is hoped that the displays will boost self-guided tourism in Carnlough and encourage visitors to explore further into the Glens.